Friday , 12 April 2024
Home » Sports » Adam Jones : Player nominated for Roberto Clemente award
Adam Jones : Player nominated for Roberto Clemente award
Adam Jones nominated for Roberto Clemente award

Adam Jones : Player nominated for Roberto Clemente award

Orioles center fielder Adam Jones, who has been involved in various charity initiatives in Baltimore and his hometown of San Diego, has been named the club’s nominee for this year’s Roberto Clemente Award.

The award is presented annually at the World Series to one big leaguer who has demonstrated a high level of character and meritorious community service, emulating the example set by Clemente, the Hall of Fame Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder who died in a plane crash while attempting to help earthquake victims in Nicaragua.

Clemente, a 15-time All-Star and Hall of Famer, died in a plane crash on New Year’s Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua.
Beginning Tuesday on Roberto Clemente Day, fans may participate in the process of selecting the national Roberto Clemente Award recipient by visiting to vote for one of the 30 nominees. Voting ends on Sunday, Oct. 6 and participating fans will be automatically registered for a chance to win a trip to the 2013 World Series, where the award winner will be announced.
Here are the nominees:
Arizona Diamondbacks – Aaron Hill
Atlanta Braves – Tim Hudson
Baltimore Orioles – Adam Jones
Boston Red Sox – Craig Breslow
Chicago Cubs – Athony Rizzo
Chicago White Sox – Hector Santiago
Cincinnati Reds – Bronson Arroyo
Cleveland Indians – Justin Masterson
Colorado Rockies – Todd Helton
Detroit Tigers – Miguel Cabrera
Houston Astros – Jose Altuve
Kansas City Royals – Billy Butler
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – Jered Weaver
Los Angeles Dodgers – Adrian Gonzalez
Miami Marlins – Logan Morrison
Milwaukee Brewers – Jonathan Lucroy
Minnesota Twins – Justin Morneau
New York Mets – David Wright
New York Yankees – David Robertson
Oakland Athletics – Sean Doolittle
Philadelphia Phillies – Chase Utley
Pittsburgh Pirates – Andrew McCutchen
St. Louis Cardinals – Carlos Beltran
San Diego Padres – Mark Kotsay
San Francisco Giants – Barry Zito
Seattle Mariners – Raul Ibañez
Tampa Bay Rays – David Price
Texas Rangers – Ian Kinsler
Toronto Blue Jays – J.P. Arencibia
Washington Nationals – Ryan Zimmerman

Jones also was chosen to represent the Orioles for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award, but he didn’t make the final cut. The six remaining nominees are Carlos Beltran, Adrian Gonzalez, Raul Ibanez, Mariano Rivera, Nick Swisher and Chase Utley.

  • About News

    Web articles – via partners/network co-ordinators. This website and its contents are the exclusive property of ANGA Media Corporation . We appreciate your feedback and respond to every request. Please fill in the form or send us email to: [email protected]

    Leave a Reply